top of page

Resolved

I will admit it...I am one of those people who adore New Years Day, and the promise of renewal and change it brings with it. I set New Years Resolutions, and I take the time I need to reflect and grow. As I began to write this month's blog, and realized that I've used this title before. So, considering how hectic the holidays can be, I figured I would re-post my original article, and use this time to reflect on how I am doing with those resolutions thus far... So here is my post from September 2016.

For as long as I have been in education, September has always been my "New Year." For me, the leaves changing colors and the school doors opening are far more symbolic of new beginnings, than the ball dropping in times square at midnight. And, just like January 1st, I feel compelled to begin my new year with some resolutions. Little promises that I make to myself in hopes of having a good year. I share them with you, in the hope that you will keep me honest and on point with these goals.

  1. We will remember to fail forward - This year our Standards and Instructional Supports Team will be pushing our system, looking to make it stronger and find new and inventive ways to support teacher in the field. Failure is powerful, and can transform our organization. But only if we fail forward...Pushing ourselves to try something new!

  2. We will remember that we can't mandate what matters! A mandate from ODE doesn't give an idea power. People and belief give ideas power.

  3. We will champion for distributive leadership. Our best ideas come from the people doing the work! That is you. We will provide you with opportunities to shape who we are, and lead the work we do. These efforts began with our Content Panels and our ESSA workgroups. We are excited to see that work continue.

  4. We will communicate, communicate, communicate! Clearly, concisely, and constantly!

  5. We are resolved to find joy! We have the best jobs in the world! We get to work with great teachers for the purpose of educating kids. We will find time to celebrate the work you are doing, and find joy in the work we are doing together.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page